Saturday, October 19, 2013

State of the Union: Fall TV Shows

There was a huge flurry of news today regarding many of the new shows this fall, so I thought I'd put all the information about each new show in one place so any readers who haven't seen the individual announcements would know where each series stands.

I will update this list periodically, as more shows' fates are revealed. (Updated: December 6, marked with *)


Ironside (NBC)
- Last episode, the series' fourth, airs October 23. Chicago PD, a new series spun off from Chicago Fire, takes over the timeslot (Wednesdays at 10:00) on January 8, 2014.

Welcome to the Family (NBC)
- Last episode, the series' third, aired October 17.

Lucky 7 (ABC)
- Last episode, the series' second, aired October 1. Killer Women takes over the timeslot on January 7, 2014, with Mind Games then airing in the same slot beginning March 11.

We Are Men (CBS)
- Last episode, the series' second, aired October 7.

Back in the Game (ABC)
-  ABC declined to pick up any episodes beyond the initial 13. Suburgatory takes over the timeslot on January 15, 2014, before Back in the Game airs its full order. Future air dates for the remaining 3 episodes are currently unknown.

Full Season Pickup (9 additional episodes ordered, unless otherwise noted)

The Crazy Ones (CBS)
The Millers (CBS)
Mom (CBS)
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)
Trophy Wife (ABC)
The Goldbergs (ABC)
Super Fun Night (ABC)
- 4 additional episodes ordered (17 total for season)
Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox)
*Dads (Fox)
- 6 additional episodes ordered (19 total for season - cut from 22 episodes on December 6)
The Blacklist (NBC)
The Michael J. Fox Show (NBC)
- Series was originally ordered at 22 episodes
Sean Saves the World (NBC)
- 5 additional episodes ordered (18 total for season)
The Originals (CW)
The Tomorrow People (CW)
Reign (CW)


Sleepy Hollow (Fox)
- Rather than picking up additional episodes, Fox renewed the series for a second season of 13 episodes, set to air in the fall of 2014.

*The Blacklist (NBC)
- Second season ordered on December 3

Orders Cut Before Debuting
- These series have had their initial 13-episode seasons reduced before debuting at midseason, which is typically a sign of creative problems and rarely a good thing.

Us & Them (Fox) - Order cut to 6 episodes
Surviving Jack (Fox) - Order cut to 8 episodes
Murder Police (Fox) - Series canceled before airing

No comments:

Post a Comment